The Presentation of the Central American Brand "so small ... So big" in El Salvador

The Department of Communications of the MITUR-CORSATUR and the Communications Directorate of the Central American Integration System, submitted today the “Centroamérica” Brand ,which promotes the integration of the image and promotional efforts of the 7 countries of the region at the international level. This brand will be the flag to sell the region as a unique tourist multi product.

The Central American integration into one single brand has the purpose of positioning and selling the region as a tourist destination before important international markets, particularly Europe and Asia. The "Centroamérica" brand is complemented with the slogan “so small… so big”, that in just one phrase transmits the concept of a relatively small region in size but with an infinite cultural, ecological, anthropological and historica wealth.

The countries that are part of the Central American region are: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama that altogether comprise a region of 522 thousand 378.3 square kilometers, offering tourists a unique multi destination concept with a series of multicultural products. Firmly positioned Tourist Routes like the Rout of Colonial Cities and Volcanoes and the Route of the Central American World Heritage that are a demonstration of the tourist and cultural strength offered by the region.

“We are proud to introduce the "Centroamérica" Brand, by which the region will be strengthened and promoted as an integrated destination within the international tourist markets, that will allow to unify Central America as a result of the effort of many regional institutions”, indicated the Minister of Tourism of El Salvador, Rubén Rochi.

Among those institutions that have worked in this inmportant project we can mention The Central American Council for Tourism (Consejo Centroamericano de Turismo (CCT)), the national administrations of tourism in each of the countries, the Secretariat for Tourist Integration of Central America (Secretaría de Integración Turística Centroamericana (SITCA)(, The Central American Tourist Committee (Comité de Mercadeo Centroamericano de Turismo (COMECATUR)), and the Central American Tourist Agency (CATA in English) and the Federation of Central American Tourist Chambers (Federación de Cámaras Centroamericanas de Turismo (FEDECATUR)).

Tourism as the engine of economic and social development for the region represents 2,029,230 employments and at the closing of year 2007 it had already generated US $6,920.6 million in foreign exchange, and is a strong and important source of income for the whole region.

This brand was created because it is the manner in which the differences in each country / regions are recognized and separated from the rest of the world, becoming a strategic asset that we all own.

Tourists are more attracted by “several countries /destinations” in one same trip, so that with just one "Centroamérica” Brand they receive greater diversity and different products. Additionally, the scales of economy are also taken advantage of. Besides, the promotion and the national brand of each individual country is reinforced and the convergency between both brands is perceived as an added value.

The Central American Brand is an important tourist market tool that will position the Central American region as a land of opportunities and experiences, enriching it as a "multi theme" destination in the business, natural or cultural tourism.

Meaning of the Brand: The symbol used to unify and disseminate the Centroamerica Brand is a shell; because it originates in our common indigenous roots and coincides in the cultures of the 7 countries of the region.

Additionally, the colors selected represent the following elements: Red: color and warmth of the people; Yellow: the sun; Blue: 2 oceans; Green: vegetation Contact: Carina Velásquez INGUAT


Central America is comprised of Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. These countries are located at the heart of the American continent and as a whole comprise a region of 522,378.3 km2, with an undescribed wealth of landscapes, beaches, animal and plants, archeological sites, cultural diversity, climate and human warmth.

The Central American region has positioned itself as a tourist multi destination at the international level, offering a series of multiproducts as a whole, within which we can highlight the Rout of Colonial Cities and Volcanoes and the Route of the Central American World Heritage that are a demonstration of the tourist and cultural strength offered by the region. Besides, the region offers the facility to practice a large number of activities such as: ecotourism, Adventure tourism, sun and beaches, rural tourism, international sports as sports fishery, surf and golf; Convention and Congress tourism, which has promoted a significant development in infrastructure throughout the region. Central America has the added advantage of having each country complement their tourist offer with unique and different products compared to their neighboring countries in the same region, which comes to facilitate the positioning of a multi destination , and being able to make multiple combinations of different tourist products.

Each country in Central America has worked strongly towards the development of the tourist industry, to turn it into a strategic sector, and assist in reaching a sustainable tourist development in the Central American region. On december 13, 1991, the Central American Integration System was created, with the signing of the Protocol to the Central American States Charter, ODECA or the Tegucigalpa Protocol, within the framework of the XI General Meeting of Central American Regional Integration of Heads of State and Government, held in Tegucigalpa, Honduras. The Central American Integration System, SICA, is the institutional framework for Central American Regional Integration, comprised of the States of the Republics of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panamá. Belize adhered as full member later on. The Dominican Republic participates as Associated State and the United States of Mexico, the Republic of Chile and the Federative Republic of Brazil participate as regional observers; the Republic of China (Taiwán), the kingdom of Spain and the Federal Republic of Germany participate as extra regional observers.

During the XXXIII Meeting of Heads of State and Government of SICA Member Countries, held on December 5, of last year, in San Pedro Sula, Honduras, the Republic of Argentina was admitted as a SICA Regional Observer Country, and the republic of Italy as an Extra Regional Observer Countries.

Milady Cruz

Claudia María de Handal

Directora de Comunicaciones
Secretaría General del Sistema de la Integración Centroamericana,;; ;

SG-SICA, San Salvador, El Salvador, 23 de diciembre de 2008.

Related information

  • 1
No items to display

Image gallery

Boletín Informativo de la Secretaría General del SICA