Republic of China

Basic Data

  • Official name: Republic of China, also known as Taiwan.
  • Geographic Location: Asia.
  • Boundaries: Situated in the center of a chain of islands on the West Pacific Ocean with Japan and Philippines to the southwest. Separated from Continental China by the Taiwan Strait ( 220 km at the widest point and 130 km at the narrowest point). It is equidistant from Shanghai and Hong Kong, Southeast Asia.
  • Population: 22, 406,000 inhabitants.
  • Capital: Taipei.
  • Currency: The monetary unit is the New Taiwan Dollar (NT$).
Other Related Information